Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi everyone,
      Let me introduce myself I am a longtime amateur astronomer, training electronic engineer.
      Many years ago, when I was still in high school, I had tried to build myself a Cassegrain from 20 cm, I had managed to get a decent figure with handwork, using the light of Texerau, but then I had various problems and I had to abandon the project, so I would like to start again now, with the knowledge of ing.
      First thing, so I was asking you about the configuration of the laboratory.
      My idea is the following:
      – Bank 1: Zeiss machine
      I wanted to recover an old and very solid metal frame that I have available and insert 3 rotating shafts, one for the table and two for the tool arms, independently controlled with V / f controls made with Pic and inverter bridges (electronics are cheap, everything I can move in electronic rather than mechanical I move), all mounted on a tank with drain and taps for effective washing at each change of grain.
      – Bank 2: Electronic line.
      I have seen on aliexpress 3m linear encoders with sensitivity from 5 microns around 50$, I therefore thought of mounting a cart integral with them for the various tests, to the limit to be associated with a pc (I think a Rasberry Pi 4 is also overkill) and a webcam to simplify testing, mounting them on a welded steel bench integral with the wall.
      – Accessories:
      > Optical slits: I was thinking of 3D printing a rotary-linear diaphragm with a stroke around the mm to make some optical slits, for example for the source of the focault test.
      > I think the spherometer costs me less to buy it.
      What do you think?
      Given the length of the test bench, I can not exceed a focal length from 1500 mm, what do you say, as a first exercise, a 300 mm f/5 o un 200 mm f/7?

Thank you very much and nice to meet you.
      Carlo Mor

Massimo MarconiMassimo Marconi